Home > Maharashtra > Ratnagiri

Ratnagiri District

Ratnagiri is a district in the state of Maharashtra.

Ratnagiri district is one of the 35 districts of Maharashtra state. Ratnagiri (city) is the district headquarters of the district. The district is bordered by the Arabian Sea to the west, Sindhudurg district to the south, Raigad district to the north and Satara, Sangli and Kolhapur districts to the east. This district is part of Konkan division.

There are nine talukas in Ratnagiri district namely Mandangad, Dapoli, Khed, Chiplun, Guhagar, Sangameshwar, Ratnagiri, Lanja and Rajapur. There are five Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district. These are Rajapur, Ratnagiri, Guhagar, Chiplun and Dapoli. There are two Lok Sabha constituencies in which the district is partly represented. One, comprising the southern part of Ratnagiri district, namely, Chiplun, Ratnagiri and Rajapur constituencies and combined with entire Sindhudurg District forms Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Lok Sabha constituency. The other one, comprising the northern part of the district, namely, Guhagar and Dapoli constituencies and part of the neighbouring Raigad district forms Raigad lok Sabha constituency.