Home > Maharashtra > Latur

Latur District

Latur is a district in the state of Maharashtra.

Latur district is a district in Maharashtra state. Latur city is the district headquarters. Population of the district was 2,080,285 as per 2001 census.

The district is divided into three Sub Divisions namely Latur, Nilanga and Udgir and further they are divided into 10 talukas and 10 Panchayat Samitis. These are Latur, Udgir, Ahmedpur, Ausa, Nilanga, Renapur, Chakur, Deoni, Shirur Anantpal, and Jalkot. Latur city is the administrative headquarters of the district. There are around 945 villages and 786 Gram Panchayats in the district.

There are six Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district namely Latur City, Latur Rural, Udgir, Ausa, Nilanga and Ahmedpur. The district is divided into two Lok Sabha constituencies Latur and Osmanabad.