Home > Maharashtra > Jalgaon

Jalgaon District

Jalgaon is a district in the state of Maharashtra.

Jalgaon district is a district of Maharashtra. It was formerly known as East Khandesh district. It has an area of 11,765 sq km and a population of 3,682,690 (2001 census). Jalgaon city is the administrative headquarters of this district.

It is bounded by Madhya Pradesh state to the north, and by the districts of Buldhana to the east, Jalna to the southeast, Aurangabad to the south, Nashik to the southwest, and Dhule to the west.

The district consists 15 talukas (tahsils) namely Jalgaon, Jamner, Erandol, Dharangaon, Bhusawal, Bodwad, Yawal, Raver, Muktainagar, Amalner, Chopda, Parola, Pachora, Chalisgaon and Bhadgaon.

There are 11 Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) constituencies in this district namely Chopda, Raver, Bhusawal, Jalgaon City, Jalgaon Rural, Amalner, Erandol, Chalisgaon, Pachora, Jamner and Muktainagar. Raver and Jalgaon are the two Lok Sabha constituencies in the district.