Home > Maharashtra > Ahmednagar


Ahmednagar is a district in the state of Maharashtra.

Ahmednagar district is the largest district of Maharashtra state. Ahmednagar city is the headquarters of the district. Ahmednagar was the seat of the Ahmednagar Sultanate of late medieval period (14961636 CE). This district is also known for the famous pilgrimage town of Shirdi. Ahmednagar district is part of Nashik Division.

Ahmednagar district is bordered by the districts Solapur, Osmanabad, Beed, Aurangabad, Nashik , Thane, and Pune. The city of Ahmednagar was named after the founder of the city, Malik Ahmed Shah Bahri, the first ruler of the Nizam Shahi dynasty (1490 CE 1509 CE) who laid the city's foundation in 1494 CE.

Ahmednagar district consists of fourteen talukas namely Akole, Jamkhed, Karjat, Kopargaon, Nevasa, Nagar, Parner, Pathardi, Rahata, Rahuri, Sangamner, Shrirampur, Shevgaon and Shrigonda. The district has thirteen Vidhan Sabha constituencies. These are Karjat (SC), Shrigonda, Ahmednagar North, Ahmednagar South, Pathardi, Sheogaon, Shrirampur, Shirdi, Kopargaon, Rahuri, Parner, Sangamner and Nagar Akola (ST). The two Lok Sabha constituencies from the district are Ahmednagar and Kopargaon. Nagar Akola (ST) constituency is a part of Nashik Lok Sabha constituency.