Andaman and Nicobar Islands

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands are a union territory of India. They lie in the Indian Ocean, in the southern reaches of the Bay of Bengal. The Andaman Islands and the Nicobar Islands are separated by the 10° N parallel, the Andamans lying to the north, and the Nicobars to the south. The capital of this territory is the city of Port Blair.

Area 8293 sq km.
Population 277,989
Capital Port Blair
Literacy Rate 73.74%
Main Languages Native Tribal Languages, Hindi, Tamil and Bengali

The name Andaman comes from Handuman which is Malay for the Hindu god Hanuman.

The islands were captured by the Marathas in the 17th century. The British occupied it until the Japanese took over during World War II. The islands were nominally put under the authority of the Provisional Government of Azad Hind of Netaji Subash Chandra Bose. Netaji visited the islands during the war, and renamed them as Shahid (Martyr) & Swaraj (Self-rule).

It became an Indian territory with India's independence in 1947.

The British used the islands as an isolated prison for members of the Indian independence movement. The imprisonment was called Kalapani.

Districts of Andaman and Nicobar Islands