Dharwad District is an administrative district of the state of Karnataka in southern India. The administrative headquarers of the district is the town of Dharwad.

Dharwad, also known as Dharwar, is a town in India's Karnataka state. Dharwad is famous for its Dharwad Peda - a milk based sweetmeat. Dharwad is the administrative seat of the district of the same name. The municipality (resulting from a merger with neighbouring Hubli in 1961) covers 191 sq. km. Dharwad is located 425km northwest of Bangalore, on the main highway between Bangalore and Pune in Maharashtra. KREIS North Unit of National Projects Construction Corporation is Head Quartered here.

Before 1997 the district had an area of 13738 sq. km. In 1997, the new districts of Gadag and Haveri were created out of Dharwad's former territory, and a portion of Dharwad district was combined with lands formerly part of three other districts to create the new district of Davanagere.

The twin cities of Hubli-Dharwad are located at a distance of around 420 KM north of Bangalore, the capital of Karnataka state and 550 KM south of Mumbai. The city of Dharwad is just east of the famous Western Ghats and is surrounded by hills and lakes.

The word "Dharwad" means a place of rest in a long travel or a small habitation. For centuries, Dharwad acted as a gateway between Malenaadu(western mountains) and Bayalu seeme (plains) and it became a resting place for the travelers. Another theory is, during VijayaNagara rule of Dharwad, there was a ruler by name "Dharav" (1403 AD) and Dharwad got its name from him. There are some inscriptions that refer to Dharwad as KampaNa Sthana.

Places of Interest

Someshwara Temple: is one of the oldest temples just outskirts of Dharwad built in 12th century by Chalukyas, near SDM college.The temple has statues of MahishaMardini , Chaturbhuja Ganapati .Da Ra Bendre in one of poems said "Banthanna sanna somavara kanabekanna Someshwara ". River Shalmala takes birth near by but she flows under ground. Someshwara is a beautiful place with surrounding hills and trees and pond.

Murugha Math: This is situated on Savadatti Road. The great Sant Mrityunjaya who was the head the math, fed hundreds of students who came from villages to study @ schools and colleges of Dharwad. Lord Mahantappa passed away in 1994 and now lord Shivayogiappa has taken over the deeksha of the math. Every Monday there will be lectures / music conducted in the premises of the math.

Shankara Matha: is located near JSS college off of NH4. Its architecture is new comprising tiles and ceramic statues, grass lawns. It has big peaceful meditation hall ,between the two "gopuras" as you can see in the picture.

Dattatreya Temple: The God with four heads representing 4 vedas.Usually called as Dattana Gidu,Situated in Gandhi Chawk.

The Vittal Mandir: Also known as 'Vithoba devara gudi'. Constructed in 1796 by the Maratha rulers. Vanavasi Rama Mandira: It is Temple of famous God Sri Rama Along with Sita,Laxmana & Hanuman,

Temple of Milaralinga: This temple is situated behind J.S.S College. It is one of famous temple in Dharwad built in 12th century. The building was built in style of Chalukya's architecture. However its been renovated. There is a saying that long ago Adilshahi's converted it as a mosque and again Pashwe's reconverted as Temple (The Persian stone writing, which said so is missing now). Is also called as "Milaralinga Gudda" because it's up on Hill. Out side of this temple there is a damaged Chlukya's "Shivalinga". Inside the temple there are beautifully carved stone pillars and 'garbha gudi' has idol of Chaturbhuja (having four arms) Milara holding Dhamaru, Trishul, Khadga and Kapala. Besides this idol there are sculptures of dog, Horse etc. AT the center of four pillars, there is statue of Nandi and roof has beautiful design of lotus ( Kamala).The statue of temple is so situated that first sunrays touch the statue , before daylight breaks over rest of Dharwad.

There are Dargas right infront of temple, Peer Anwarsha and Moonawarsha ,and every year in the month of Rajjab , Uruus takes place.

Ulavi Basappana temple: Chennabasavanna and his team (desciples of Lord Basaveshwara) fled from the hostile Kalyana. On their way to the forests of ulavi they rested here. It is a big stone temple with 63 mantaps constructed by the saints of Shaiva cult. A Mela (Jatri) in August every year (Shravana Masa) celebrates the occasion. A group of people wearing colorful dresses dance in the streets of Dharwad every Monday during 'Shravana Masa'

Ganapati Temple: A small temple of Ganapati or vighneshwara situated in KCD circle

Durgadevi Temple: A temple of the Goddess Durga. Situated near the Corporation building.There is a heavy round stone in the temple. A belief among young svhool going kids "if you lift the stone and place it back without making sound, you will pass in the exam". Its true , it worked for me Laxmi-

Narayana Temple: Situated in Javali Peth in the center of Dharwad. Two beautiful marbal idols of Laxmi and Narayana are decorated everyday and even more specially during the month of the Dasera festival for 10 days. These idols are dressed according to the various mythological stories. A big mela for 10 days.

Shri Shri Kumar Swami Tapovan: This is the temple near University. A great learned Saint callled Kumaraswami established it. People from all over the country came here to listen to his lectures. Since his death last year his follwers are maintaining it. Formarly this math was called Navakalyana math in the city and then it got shifted to Tapovan. The Photographs are provided by Josip-Akshay Valcicak -from Croatia.

Renuka (Yellamma) Devi-Temple: This is a well-known temple in North Karnataka visited by pilgrims mainly from Karnataka, Maharashtra & AndhraPradesh. Yellamma temple is situated atop hill, near Soundatti in Belgaum district. The number of devotees visiting the temple is estimated to be around 30 lakhs, their number is the highest on Bharat Hunnime day. Several other famous temples situated at this holy place include Sri Jamadhagnishwar Temple, Sri Parashuram Temple, Yekhanath Joghinath temple, Ganesh temple & Sri Aanjaneya temple.

Mandals of Dharwad