Republic of India is a county in South Asia constituting most of the Indian Subcontinent. It is the largest democratic country in the world. It is second most populous country with more than one billion (100 crores). Indan economy is the fourth largest economy and second fastest growing economy in the world. By geographical area India the seventh largest country. It shares its borders with People's republic of China, Pakistan, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Bhutan. Sri Lanka, Maldives, and Indonesia are nearby island nations in the Indian Ocean. Four major religions of the world Hinduism, Budhism, Jainism, and Sikhism are originated in India.

Name India, Bharat, and Hindustan
Capital New Delhi
Largest City Mumbai
Official language Hindi, English (+ 21 other officially recognised languages)
President Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam
Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh
- Total
- % water

3,287,590 kmē
- Total (2003)
- Density

102,70,15,247 (2001 census)
- Total (2005 estimate)
- GDP/head

$3.602 trillion
Independence August 15, 1947
Republic January 26, 1950
Currency Code (ISO 4217)
Indian Rupee
Time zone UTC +5.30 (IST)
Internet TLD .in
Calling Code 91
National Flag      Tiranga (Tricolor)

National Emblem      Sarnath Lion

National anthem Jana Gana Mana
National Motto Satyameva Jayathe (Truth Always Triumphs)
National song Vande Mataram
National game Hockey
National animal Royal Bengal Tiger
National bird Peacock
National flower Lotus
National tree Banyan
National fruit Mango
National flower Lotus
National costume Saree
National calender Saka (Hindu Calender)

The official name India is derived from Sindhu (river Indus) and is the most internationally recognisable of the country. Bharat is the other official name of India. Bharat comes from the name of a ancient Hindu king. It is also known as Hindustan meaning land of the Hindus.

India a socialist, secular, sovereign, democratic republic with a bicameral parliament ( Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha). The President is the head of the state. The Prime Minister is the head of the Government.

India is divided into 29 States and 6 Union Territories. States are further divided into Districts. Each State is headed by a Governor and Chief Minister is the head the State Government. Union Territories are governed by administrator appointed by Union Government, though some have elected governments.