Home > Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is a state/Union Territory of India.

Uttar Pradesh is the largest state in India. The administrative and legislative capital is Lucknow and the judicial capital is Allahabad. Other notable cities include Agra, Aligarh, Ayodhya, Varanasi (also known as Benares and Kashi), Etawah, Kanpur, Mirzapur and Deoband. Neighbouring states are Uttaranchal, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Bihar. Uttar Pradesh also shares its border with Nepal.

In 2000, the Parliament of India carved out the northern part of Uttar Pradesh to form the state of Uttaranchal. Uttar Pradesh covers a large part of the densely populated plains around the Ganges and Yamuna. With 166 million inhabitants, it is not only the most populous state in India but also the most populous subnational entity in the world. Only 5 countries of the world (the People's Republic of China, India itself, the United States, Indonesia and Brazil) have a higher population than Uttar Pradesh . It is also one of the most economically backward states of India and the literacy rate, as is the case with the rest of India, is higher for males than females.

Uttar Pradesh covers the area of the old princely state of Awadh (Oudh) and the British Province of Agra. They were merged in 1858 to form the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh, known after 1902 as United Provinces. Though the state is in the centre of India, it was renamed Uttar Pradesh to retain the short form UP, by which it is best known in India. The state comprises the regions of Rohilkhand in the northwest, The Doab, or Brij (Braj) in the southwest, Awadh (Oudh) in the centre, Bundelkhand in the south, and Purvanchal in the east.

The languages and customs of the different regions are distinct, and the dialect of the western regions (Khadiboli) is the basis for the official Hindi language. Uttar Pradesh state consists of 70 districts, which are grouped into 17 divisions: Agra, Azamgarh, Allahabad, Kanpur, Gorakhpur, Chitrakoot, Jhansi, Devipatan, Faizabad, Bareilly, Basti, Mirzapur, Moradabad, Meerut, Lucknow, Varanasi, and Saharanpur.

Best time to visit the state is October to March. Major railway stations are Lucknow, Kanpur, Varanasi, Allahabad, Agra, Mathura, Jhansi, and Ghaziabad. Airports are at Lucknow, Varanasi, Agra, Kanpur and Allahabad. Both international and national tourists get attracted to this place as there are several aspects worth exploring. Two most venerated rivers of India Ganga and Yamuna flow through Uttar Pradesh. The most important tourist sites of Uttar Pradesh are Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Fatehpur Sikri, Ghats, Sarnath (Varanasi), Sangam at Prayag (Allahabad), forts at Allahabad, Jhansi, and Bithoor.